The Colorado General Assembly has declared that labor trafficking “costs individual workers in Colorado hundreds of millions of dollars in wages and benefits each year and costs the state of Colorado tens of millions of dollars in revenue.”
The legislature passed and the governor signed HB 19-1267. The law recognizes that a person’s labor is a thing of value that can be subject to theft and imposes the same penalties as section 18-4-401 of the Colorado Revised Statutes. Offenses involving $2,000 or more in stolen wages is a felony; lesser amounts above $50 is a misdemeanor.
If you believe that you, or someone for whom you are responsible, may be the victim of a crime related to an employer’s failure to pay wages owed, please download and complete this 4-page form. Wage theft complaints should be submitted in writing to help us process your complaint as quickly as possible
Email the completed form to [email protected]
Our Economic Crime Unit will review your complaint and help support any investigation by the appropriate law enforcement agency.
The Colorado Department of Labor can take civil action against employers for failing to pay employees the wages they are due. Please also go to https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdle/complaint-forms to submit a Wage and Hour Complaint or download the necessary form for completion.
Please contact the Director of Consumer Fraud Protection at 720-874-8547 or [email protected] if you need assistance to complete either form
*Se habla Español – the District Attorney has Spanish-speaking staff available to return your calls or messages relating to your inquiry or complaint.
As our office learns of trends indicating unethical and/or illegal practices in our jurisdiction, we will issue a Wage Theft Alert. You can see these alerts on our website
To be added to our email list to be notified of new alerts, send a request to [email protected]